Thursday 25 May 2023
Area 42 Petit
Lexxion Publisher (DE)

Panel Description

Up-and-coming data protection researchers compete every year for the prestigious Young Scholars Award (YSA) organised by the European Data Protection Law Review (EDPL). The best 3 young authors are invited to present their research at the YSA panel.
• Magdalena Brewczyńska, Tilburg University (NL) - From ‘legitimacy’ in EU primary ław to the principle of ‘lawfulness’ in the secondary data protection legislation and back to ‘legitimacy’: In search of rationality and consistency
• Mona Winau, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (DE) - Areas of tension in the application of AI and data protection law
• Benny Rolle, University of Goettingen (DE) - Fair data protection damages: Tension between troublemakers, legal techs and real harm

The papers will be discussed by the jury made up of EDPL Board Members Indra Spiecker gen. Döhmann, Goethe-Universität Frankfurt (DE), Franziska Boehm, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (DE), Maria Tzanou, University of Sheffield, (UK), and Orla Lynskey, London School of
Economics (UK).
At the end of the panel, the winner of the 7th EDPL Young Scholar Award will be announced.

Did you see these?

You might be interested in these panels as well: